Nassau County Lawyer Seeking Justice on Behalf of Clients Accused of Driving on a Suspended License
It is a privilege—not a right—to drive in the state of New York. If your privileges are suspended or revoked, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle until they have been reinstated. Failing to obey this law could lead to serious criminal charges and penalties.
If you are charged with operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license or registration, seek legal representation from experienced AUO lawyer Gianni Karmily at once.
When Can Your Driver’s License Be Suspended or Revoked In Long Island?
There are a number of reasons why your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked in the state of New York, including:
- You did not meet the state’s minimum auto liability insurance coverage requirements.
- You were convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- You have accumulated 11 or more points on your driving record within an 18-month period.
- You failed to pay traffic ticket fines or respond to traffic tickets.
- You failed to pay state taxes.
- You failed to pay child support.
- You did not fulfill your obligation to file a report for an accident.
- You made false statements when applying for a license or registration.
These are some of the many ways that your driving privileges could be suspended or revoked. The length of the suspension or revocation will vary depending on the nature of the offense. For example, if your license is suspended for failing to pay traffic ticket fines, paying these fines could remove the suspension. But if your license is suspended for a DWI conviction, it will remain suspended for a specific period of time.
What is Scofflaw?
In New York, drivers who fail to appear in response to a traffic summons or pay a fine imposed by the court will face a driver’s license suspension. To reinstate your driving privileges, you must pay a $70 “Scofflaw” fee in addition to whatever fines are owed to the court.
What is Aggravated Unlicensed Operation (AUO)?
There are three degrees of aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO) offenses. Third-degree AUO is the crime of operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked driver’s license. This is a misdemeanor that is punishable by up to $500 in fines and 30 days in jail.
This crime becomes second-degree AUO if one of the following conditions is met:
- The defendant has another AUO conviction on their record from within the last 18 months.
- The defendant’s license was suspended or revoked because of a drug or alcohol-related driving offense such as DWI or DWAI.
- The defendant’s license was suspended pending the outcome of their alcohol-related criminal case.
- The defendant’s license has been suspended at least three times.
Second-degree AUO is a misdemeanor that is punishable by at least $500 in fines and up to 180 days in jail.
First-degree AUO occurs when someone operates a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license and also meets one of the following conditions:
- The defendant was under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time of the AUO crime.
- The defendant’s license has been suspended at least 10 times.
- The defendant’s license has been permanently revoked for refusing a chemical test or committing a drug or alcohol-related driving offense.
First-degree AUO is a class E felony, which carries a maximum of four years in prison in addition to $5,000 in fines.
Can You Face Charges For Driving With A Suspended Registration?
Your license is not the only thing that can be suspended or revoked—your registration may be suspended or revoked as well. If you operate a motor vehicle while the certificate of registration is suspended or revoked, you could face misdemeanor charges. A conviction can lead to up to $100 in fines and 30 days in jail for first-time offenders. If you are convicted of this crime twice within an 18-month period, the penalties are increased to up to $200 in fines and 90 days in jail. If you commit this crime again, the penalties are increased again to up to $500 in fines and 180 days in jail.
Schedule A No-Cost Consultation With Our Long Island AUO Defense Attorney Today
Have you been accused of operating a motor vehicle with a suspended license or registration? Don’t make the mistake of assuming that this is a mere traffic violation—it’s a criminal offense. If you are facing these charges, contact Law Firm of Gianni Karmily, PLLC to discuss your legal options as soon as possible. Gianni is a skilled AUO attorney who has helped countless clients beat their charges in order to protect their freedom. To schedule a free consultation regarding your case, call 516-630-3405 or fill out the form on this website.