Long Island Lawyer Protecting the Rights of Sex Crime Defendants in Nassau County
A number of criminal offenses are classified as sex crimes in New York. The crimes that fall under this category vary in severity, but every sex crime carries serious penalties. If you are convicted of a sex crime, the penalties can continue to affect you for the rest of your life. Don’t let a sex crime conviction destroy your life—fight these charges with the help of criminal defense attorney Gianni Karmily.
What Are the Different Types of Sex Offenses in Long Island?
Many different crimes are considered sex offenses in New York, including:
Criminal Sexual Act
A criminal sexual act is the act of engaging in oral or anal sexual conduct with a person who is incapable of providing consent or by force. This crime is a class E, D, or B felony, depending on the level of the offense.
Forcible touching is the act of intentionally and forcibly touching another person’s intimate body parts in order to satisfy a sexual desire. This crime is a class A misdemeanor.
Predatory Sexual Assault
Predatory sexual assault occurs when someone threatens or injures the victim while committing another sex crime such as rape, aggravated sexual abuse, or criminal sexual act. You can also face predatory sexual assault charges for committing certain sex crimes against more than one person. This crime is a class A-II felony.
There are three degrees of rape in Long Island. Third-degree rape occurs when someone engages in sexual intercourse with a victim who:
- Under the age of 17 (if the defendant is over 21 years of age), or
- Incapable of giving consent, or
- Did not give consent.
This is a class E felony. The crime is enhanced to second-degree rape, which is a class D felony, when:
- The defendant is 18 years of age or older and the victim under the age of 15, or
- The victim is unable to give consent due to mental disability or incapacity
Rape in the first-degree is a class B felony. This crime occurs when someone engages in sexual intercourse by force, with a victim who is physically unable to consent, or with a victim who is under the age of 11. If the defendant is 18 years of age or older, they can also face these charges for having sex with a minor under the age of 13.
You may face sexual abuse charges if you make sexual contact with another person without obtaining that person’s consent. There are three degrees of sexual abuse offenses. The degree of charges you will face will depend on the victim’s age, whether or not you used force, and the victim’s physical ability to provide consent. This crime can be a class B misdemeanor, class A misdemeanor, or class D felony depending on the level of the offense.
You can face sexual misconduct charges if you engage in sexual intercourse with another person without obtaining that person’s consent. This is a class A misdemeanor.
The state of New York prohibits anyone from creating, possessing, or distributing content that depicts a child engaging in sexual or obscene conduct.
What Are the Different Types of Offenses Against Public Sensibilities?
Some crimes that are sexual in nature are considered offenses against public sensibilities. These crimes include:
- Public lewdness
- Exposure of a person
Public lewdness is the act of exposing yourself in a lewd manner or engaging in any other type of sexually offensive behavior:
- In a public place, or
- In a private place that is visible to the public, or
- While trespassing in a home, if the act is seen by someone inside the home.
This is a class B misdemeanor. However, exposure of a person is a violation. This crime occurs when you intentionally expose yourself in a public place.
What is the Sex Offender Registration Act?
Every sex crime carries the possibility of incarceration and substantial fines. But, these aren’t the only penalties you can face for a sex crime conviction. Under the Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA), individuals who are convicted of certain sexual criminal offenses are required to register as sex offenders.
If you are convicted, the court will need to classify you as a level 1, 2, or 3 risk level. Your risk level will determine whether or not your sex offender registration information is public and the length of time you will remain a registered sex offender.
Level 1 offenders are low risk offenders, which means it is not likely that they will commit another sex crime. If you are a level 1 offender, you typically must register for 20 years. Level 2 offenders are considered moderate risks, and level 3 offenders are considered high risks. Both level 2 and level 3 offenders typically must register for life, however certain level 2 offenders may be granted relief from registration after 30 years.
This penalty—being labeled as a sex offender—can haunt you for the rest of your life. The only way to avoid this penalty is to hire a sex crime attorney to help you fight your charges.
Schedule Your No-Cost Case Evaluation With Long Island Our Sex Crime Lawyer Today
Are you facing sex crime charges in Nassau County? If so, seek legal representation from experienced sex crime attorney Gianni Karmily as soon as possible. Gianni has dedicated his career to helping the accused secure their freedom. Let him defend your rights and fight to protect your future. To schedule a free consultation with Law Firm of Gianni Karmily, PLLC, call 516-630-3405 or fill out the form on this website.